How to Recover Deleted Telegram Messages

telegram messengerTelegram quickly gained popularity due to its reliability and high degree of security. A significant advantage of the messenger is the absence of dubious functions, spam, and advertising with which many instant messengers are overloaded. Telegram is often used for business purposes as well, and that’s why many users may ask how to recover deleted dialogs and messages. Let’s find out whether it is possible.

Is Deleted Data Recovery Real?

Unfortunately, or not, the function of restoring correspondence in this messenger does not exist. Messages cannot be recovered after they are deleted and this is all related to the purpose of this messenger. Namely, the issue of security. If Telegram has a data recovery function, then the main purpose of the app will be lost.

The issue of confidentiality in this messenger is a top priority. Therefore, if the user decides to delete a message or chat, then this action will be irrevocable. When you delete a chat, you will have only 5 seconds during which you can cancel this action.

Why is this happening and there is no such function? All messages are sent to the server in encrypted form. This is done so that even Telegram’s employees cannot read the message. If the user creates a secret chat, then all files disappear altogether as soon as the chat closes. Moreover, they don’t even get to the server.

When the user decides to delete a message or correspondence, then it is automatically deleted from the server. So, the messenger does not even have the technical ability to recover this data.

Are There Data Recovery Alternatives or Solutions?data recovery

When you know that it is impossible to restore deleted information, then you need to figure out how you can save the data. The lack of such a function cannot be considered a disadvantage, since it is part of the user data protection system. This prevents attackers from reading messages after they have been deleted from the messenger.

But there are several ways that you can save important messages, however, they still will not work if you have already deleted messages so take care of saving the data you need in advance. Here is what you can do.

Take a Screenshot

If you want to save the message you need so that it is always at your fingertips, then simply take a screenshot of the text. Accordingly, this can be done both on a PC and a smartphone.

You can create a separate folder in the gallery so that screenshots aren’t mixed up with other photos. If you do this on a PC, you can also make a separate folder where you will store these images. Also, if the messages you have saved in this way are of great importance and value, make sure to protect your devices as well with the help of antivirus apps, passwords, and two-factor authentication.

Create a Text Duplicate

One of the easiest ways to save the correspondence is to copy the text and save it in a text editor or your smartphone’s notes. This can be done both on a PC and a smartphone. As with the previous tip, take care of the protection of your device.

Re-send Important Messages by Email

If you wish, you can send copies of messages by email. This method is more suitable for the desktop version of the messenger. In this case, make sure you are re-sending important messages via email to credible recipients only. Also, protect your email with a difficult-to-guess password, and never use the same password for your other accounts.

Use Data Export Function

The latest versions of the messenger provide such a useful function as data export. Since the correspondence cannot be restored, it can be saved on your PC. As you can imagine, it is possible to do this before you delete the messages, and not after. This function is useful in several other cases of data export:

  • Account information (nickname, number, photo).
  • Multimedia data (photo, audio, audio, and video messages).
  • Chats, both private and public, messages, bots.
  • Other types of data.

Thus, you can export all the data you need. How to do it? Here’s a simple algorithm.

  1. Open Messenger on PC.
  2. Click the three stripes in the upper left corner.
  3. Open Settings.
  4. Find the Data Export item.

There you will find a menu in which you will be prompted to select the desired data. Then you need to choose where to save the files and complete the action.

Save Your Messages

You can store important messages, multimedia files, and so on directly on Telegram. To do this, you need to select the desired message and forward it to Saved Message. Since Telegram does not require the deletion of messages due to the high degree of protection, there is no need to delete correspondence.

But still, if you have reasons to delete any files, then you can simply forward them to your chat. By the way, you can store both personal messages and media files, and messages from public chats.

For example, you have a contact of the Online Writers Rating custom writing reviews company and you want their site to be at your fingertips. Just forward this message to your chat. By the way, Saved Message can also be a good tool for taking notes online.

Ask the Chat Member to Resend a Message to You

You can also ask the member of the conversation to forward messages to you if you have not selected the function to delete messages everywhere. This method is suitable if you need to restore a private conversation or photos. However, it is unlikely to be suitable if you need to restore the details of a business or a secure conversation, since it may raise suspicions of other participants that your Telegram account has been compromised (which is actually unlikely due to the high security of this messenger).

phone textsThe Bottom Line

Even though it is impossible to restore the messages from Telegram, now you know that you need to think several times before deleting important chats. Hence, Telegram is not the place where you can play with deleting messages. If the function of restoring data or correspondence is available, then Telegram will cease to be one of the reliable messengers. Thus, use the tips we have shared to securely save important information from chats if you need to delete them from Telegram.

Leave a Reply